13.1 done.

So I ran a half marathon. Not fast, but I did it. I did not have any time goals going into it. My goal was to finish it and not die. I am writing this now, so I must be alive.

It was one of the hardest things I have ever done.

I can’t wait to do it again.

In the weeks leading up to the race, I couldn’t think of anything else. What would I wear? What will the weather be like? How on earth can I do this? What if I can’t finish? What if I get hurt? What if I oversleep or get lost? I was a woman obsessed.

I woke up early on race day and put on my carefully laid out clothes. The weather was low 40’s and sunny. Perfect running weather. I had picked up my race packet the night before, so that took some of the stress out of the morning. I arrived at the starting area and it was packed. There was a full marathon and half marathon that day and I was just so proud to be among those amazing athletes. There was some time to kill, so after eating my 2nd banana, getting my music and GPS ready, I sat in the gym and texted some friends. It was a little lonely doing it alone, but most of my races have been alone, so I am rather used to it. It would have been nice to have a running friend to share my excitement/nervous energy with. At about 10 minutes prior to the start, we all headed out to the starting line where I think someone sang the national anthem, but it’s all kind of a blur. I met a woman from Asheville and she and I ran our first couple of miles together, which was great. The beginning of the course was beautiful. Breathtaking. Charleston is the perfect location for a race in January. Warm and flat. I felt good and strong. I skipped the first couple water stops and just kept running. My music was blaring and I was having so much fun. There were spectators throughout the entire course and that helped so much. I was grinning like an idiot during most of the race. There were plenty of water stops, plenty of bathrooms, lots of amazing volunteers and truly inspiring runners. One woman was pushing her disabled adult son for a full marathon.

I knew I was not going to be able to run for over 2 hours without a bathroom break, so around mile 9-10, I finally stopped. It was very frustrating to be standing in line and not running. Once I started back, I was in a lot more pain than when I had stopped. My muscles cooled off during my 6-minute pit stop and I was worried. Luckily, I warmed back up and was on my way. The scenery was not so great during miles 7-10, I think, but then once we got onto the old Navy base, there were some more interesting things to distract me. I had never been in that area before, despite living in Charleston for 16 years. Once I hit mile 12, I was tired and ready to stop. But at that point, what’s one more mile? Piece of cake!

I was looking forward to seeing my family at the finish and when I ran by, they were distracted and tending to my kiddos, so they didn’t see me. I saw them though, and that gave me the extra push to sprint to the end. I was given my medal and my husband came running up behind me and looked so proud. I almost started crying, but I held it together. I wanted to kiss my babies and I was so relieved that it was over. Such a strange feeling of accomplishment, mixed with exhaustion and dehydration. I was also a little sad that it was over. After all the anticipation and training and preparation… It was done. 13.1 done.

20130316-113551.jpg

20130316-113613.jpg

20130316-113654.jpg

One Response to “13.1 done.”

  1. Grumpy and Meemaw Says:

    Very proud of you honey. That was quite an accomplishment and you should be proud of yourself
    Love you all

Leave a Reply

